Subscribe to our e-newsletter mailing list to keep up with NCCCO news and industry headlines.

Frequently Asked Questions


Is recertification required for crane operator certification?

Yes, NCCCO requires recertification every five years to ensure knowledge has been retained and to accommodate technical changes in equipment. To be recertified, a candidate must:

  • Pass a written Recertification Examination
  • Have at least 1,000 crane-related hours of experience within the five-year period of certification; candidates who do not meet this requirement are required to retake and pass the Practical Test
  • Continue to comply with ASME B30 physical requirements
  • Continue to comply with NCCCO’s substance abuse policy

How do I provide proof of 1,000 hours for recertification?

Upon registering for the exam, you will sign an Attestation Statement on your recertification application, indicating that you have 1,000 hours of related experience (operating, maintenance, inspection, or training) during your certification period. You are not required to submit documented paperwork to NCCCO.

What is the recertification application process?

The Recertification Applications can be found on our Handbooks and Forms page. Identify a Test Date and Location convenient for you, and contact the Test Site Coordinator for that facility to make arrangements. 

Do I need to submit a new photo?

If the photo on your original card meets current requirements (full face, no hats or dark glasses), a new photo is not required. If you wish to have a new photo on your card, you may send one in with your recertification application.

Are there any study materials for recertification?

You will find a list of reference materials as well as comprehensive Exam Outlines on each certification program’s written exam page.

When does my certification expire?

Your certification’s expiration date appears on the front side of your certification card, below your designations. If you have lost your card, you may contact NCCCO to check on your certification’s expiration date.

I am running out of time to recertify. Can I ask for more time?

Candidates must successfully complete the required recertification exam(s) during the 12 months before their certification expires. There is no “grace period” after the date of expiration. Candidates whose certification has lapsed must take the initial written and practical examinations over again in order to be certified.

Do you offer Computer-Based Testing (CBT) for recertification?

Computer-Based Testing (CBT) is currently available for all NCCCO programs requiring a written recertification exam. Signalpesons must take a practical exam to recertify; search for test dates and locations.

How many times may I take the recertification exams?

Recertification candidates are allowed two attempts to pass the recertification exams before their certification expires. Recertification candidates who are unsuccessful after two attempts must take and pass the initial written exams prior to their certification's expiration date.

How do I add another certification?

You may take initial exams for other programs in the same sitting as your recertification exams at any of the Test Dates and Locations or via Computer-Based Testing (CBT).

What’s on the recertification written exam?

Although the recertification exams are shorter, they are based on similar criteria as your initial exam. You may want to review the written exam outlines (which are found in the Candidate Handbook) for your program, as they contain the key knowledge areas you will be tested on.

How soon before my certification expires can I recertify?

You may take recertification examinations up to one year prior to your certification’s expiration date. As long as you test within that one-year period, your new five-year certification period begins from your certification’s original expiration date. Candidates who recertify more than 12 months prior to their certification’s expiration date will begin their new certification period immediately, not from the end of their current certification period.

Back to FAQ menu